top of page

Snugly Blanket

Updated: Jan 27, 2022

Hello and WELCOME,


  • Do you have pictures of blanket yarn projects?


I want to see them! Please leave a comment or send me an email!


Let's talk about blanket yarn. A few years ago it became all the craze. People used it for arm knitting and finger crochet. At the time I made a blanket for my mom who lives near Chicago and I shipped it to her because back then I lived in Alabama. After moving home to help with younger siblings when my mom had lung surgery I decided to make another blanket using 2 strands of a bulky weight yarn and a smaller hook. Well I never found what I was looking for and hated them both.


THE STITCHES WERE ALL WRONG!


Now blanket yarn has more options. I have made baby blankets out of blanket yarn but I could never achieve the look I was after.


I hope this post helps you decide the look you are going for in making your blanket yarn projects. Specifically blankets.


I did several stitches this time including moss stitch, Paris or blanket stitch and V stitch. These seem to be popular for blanket yarn but I also included spike stitch and even double crochet using different size hooks for you to see how each hook changes the swatch.


Now all of these are swatches. They are not completed projects.


However let's talk about how this may NOT turn out the way you are wanting.


Crochet is worked horizontal and is done either left to right or right to left depending on if you are right or left handed.


Most of those chunky blankets you see in the store are knitted.


Knitting is worked vertically. The stitches interlock in a vertical direction not horizontal like crochet. Hence, why you will get a different look. Despite our best efforts crochet will never be what knitting is and vice versa.


I know! I am just as sad as you BUT we can get close…


For these swatches I will make sure to mention what hook I used and what stitch as well as how many rows.


I used an 8mm (L) all the way up to a 15mm (P/Q) hook. 12mm and 15 mm share the same letter combination of P/Q. This is why I have made this diagram below for your reference.


I have found a P/Q hook or 12mm hook to be the best when working with this type of yarn.


Especially when making a blanket because it gives drape. All the other hooks seemed to make everything too tight. Now if you are making stuffed animals this would be great! The yarn is soft and would do great for stuffed animals. However, a lot of your patterns for these involve a weight 4 yarn. I also have posted a chart for the weight of yarn as well. It can be seen in the picture below as well. It is also available to be downloaded and printed for reference by clicking the button.


magical lemonz chart of hooks and yarn weight
.
Download • 460KB




Let's get started:


I used Bernat Blanket Yarn in the color Cloudy Sky. It is a Weight 6. And recommends an 8mm (L) hook. I bought this yarn at Ollie's. However, Walmart, Joann's, and Michael's sell it.


I did double crochet using 4 different hooks. Each 4 rows high. And each using the same number of stitches across.


8mm hook. 4 rows. 16 stitches



9mm hook. 4 rows 16 stitches



10mm hook. 4 rows. 16 stitches



11.5 or 12mm hook. 4 rows 16 stitches



15 mm hook. 4 rows 16 stitches




The double crochet stitches all side by side...






Popular Stitches


Waffle Stitch


Waffle Stitch is worked using double crochet as well as front and back post double crochet. This pattern of repetition creates a waffle-like texture. It is a yarn eater and you will use more yarn than you realize. Common abbreviation (WafSt).


12 mm hook. 2 rows





 


Corner to Corner (C2C)


Corner to corner is worked diagonally. It starts in 1 corner fans out to create the other 2 corners and then ends at the 4th corner. It involves increase, decrease, double crochet and chains. It is worked in a tile function or cluster. So you count the clusters as one.


12 mm hook. 2 rows and then decreased




 


Spike Stitch


Spike stitch is worked using a single crochet for several rows and then reaching down in previous rows to make a spike look and then repeating the process. Commonly abbreviated (SpkSt)

12 mm hook. 2 rows







 

Paris Stitch or Blanket Stitch


Paris and Blanket stitch are the same thing. They are worked using double crochet, chains and single crochet in the same cluster and then skipping stitches. Common abbreviations (PrSt or BlnkSt).

12 mm hook. 4 rows







 

Moss Stitch or Linen Stitch


Moss stitch and Linen stitch are the same, just 2 different names. They are worked with single crochet and chains and skipping stitches. Commonly abbreviated (MSt or LnSt).

12mm hook. 2 rows







 


V Stitch


V stitch is made by placing 2 double crochet in the same stitch and then skipping the next stitch before working into the following one. So every other stitch for the first row and then the rows after is worked in the center of the V. Commonly abbreviated (VSt).

12 mm hook 3 rows







 

Linked Double Crochet


Linked double crochet is made by interlocking the double crochet stitches together. It is also worked in both loops of the row. So both front and back loop. Common abbreviation (LDC).


12 mm hook. 2 rows







 


The Yarn...

Blanket yarn is harder to see your stitches. This is due to the plush nature of the yarn. Similar to fur yarn it is harder to see and know where your next stitch is because they are not as easily seen and at times felt. It does not matter the manufacturer they all are more difficult to work with.


The best way I have found to continue to work with the yarn and also learn my stitches is to not just look for my stitch but also feel them. Know them by touch. What each stitch feels like. That way when I want to work with yarn that is hard to see my stitches I know what my stitches feel like and I am not as hindered in working with the yarn to achieve the look I want.


I did attempt the “knit” stitch for crochet with this yarn but I had a terrible time trying to determine where my stitches were. The plushness of the blanket yarn made it nearly impossible to determine where I was supposed to insert my hook. So I opted to just not post that one.






 


Blanket Yarn Patterns

The blanket yarn can be substituted for 2 strands of bulky yarn at least weight 5 but preferred 6. Please see the chart above…



I am hoping that blanket yarn will become more popular and more manufacturers will make more variety.




 

Final Thoughts…

  • What stitches have you found that work with this yarn?


  • Can I see pictures in the comments of what you have made?


  • Be sure to comment or send me an email with your thoughts!


  • Also be sure to check us out on Facebook and Instagram! Be sure to like and follow!









Until next time!


Have a Magically Lemony day!


Breland ❣🍋


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page