top of page

Chenille... The Love and Hate we have

Updated: Jan 7, 2022

January 5, 2022

By Breland W.

In the Beginning…


You found it! I am so glad you have stumbled across this blog. Welcome!

I suppose I should start from the beginning… This blog began when I recognized a need within myself to write. I know clique… but hear me out… with the recent changes in the world, you know what I am talking about, the pandemic, the political and social unrest in our Great American States and most everywhere, I recognized I needed to find an outlet of my own. Hence Magical Lemonz was born.


The purpose of this blog is to talk about life. For me this includes life experiences, relationships, and my numerous hobbies… or rather… attempted hobbies. To begin I want to talk about the magical effects of crochet. I have been crocheting for over ten years. Honestly since I was a child but more seriously as a teenager and adult. It has become a passion. I enjoy creating with my hands. In the future I hope to share how crochet can help with mental health and in managing stress. In the meantime, I would like to share a wonderful yarn I have found.


Most people who know me know I LOVE DOLLAR TREE. Yes… I am that person. I love spending time in Dollar Tree. I go walk around and dream of new DIYs. Do I complete most of these? Probably not… but that’s not the point.

I found this wonderful yarn. Pictured below.


In all the blog posts concerning crochet I want to show you my wonderful readers, that’s you, what different stitches look like and ideas on what to make with it. Now not all yarn is equal. This is just a guideline not a hardcore instruction manual that is the gold standard. This is my opinion. So please feel free to give me your feedback with what you have found works FOR YOU!


Let’s get started:





About the yarn: This “cool blue” Chenille yarn is silky soft to the touch. It holds its shape in stitches that support it. It needs stability. A stitch such as a bauble or popcorn would not support the yarn as much as a linked double crochet or even moss or linen stitch would.


Weight: It is considered a weight 6 yarn. However, compared to other weight 6 yarn it is not as “bulky”. It is thinner and more pliable. So, keep this in mind when you choose your project.


Hook Used: I used the recommended hook that the label says. I use primarily aluminum hooks. I do not have a specific brand at this time I have found the easiest to work with. The hook I used for this is a Boye 8mm L Hook made from aluminum.


I did a small swatch of the following stitches: Linked Double crochet, Moss or Linen Stitch, Half double crochet, and Lemon Peel stitch. If you have a request to see a different stitch, please comment and I will try my best to meet the request.


The Stitches

Below each stitch description you will find a picture of the swatches. There will be two of them. If you want to see how to do a specific stitch I would recommend youtube.


First up is Linked Double Crochet stitch. This stitch involves linking the stitches by picked up the previous stitch and the place of the new one in the previous row... The stitch next to it. They appear to be linked like an infinity symbol. They provide excellent support for this type of yarn. This is because it is supporting the stitches because they are not only close together but supported on all 4 areas of a stitch. Meaning you have the top of the stitch, the bottom where it connects into the previous row, and the right and left sides, sort of like a square supporting the stitch.






Next is the Moss stitch which is also known as the Linen stitch. They are the SAME stitch. This stitch uses single crochet and skipping stitches as well as chain stitches to create a more chain link fence look. It is a great stitch. It is used for several kinds of projects primarily from what I have seen in blankets.




Thirdly is the Half double crochet. My favorite stitch of all. Not necessarily for this yarn but in general love of stitches. It is fast, simple, and just a natural stitch for me. It is a great stitch for this type of yarn. It allows you to have height for your project but not compromise on the integrity of the yarn and it needing support due to its flowy nature.





Lastly is the Lemon Peel stitch. This is a blog that centers around my obsession of lemony and magical things. So yes, I had to do a swatch of the Lemon Peel just for fun. This stitch is also great. It creates texture and does not compromise the yarn needing some extra love to hold its shape. I would recommend this type of stitch as well. It consists of half double crochet and single crochet stitches.






The Yarn

So, let’s talk about the yarn as a whole and what kind of projects to do with it… This yarn is oh so snuggly soft. Although it would make a great blanket it will stretch over time. Also think about washing it. How often do you or little one’s spill that cup of coffee or juice on a cool morning snuggled under a blanket? What about those fur babies? Is it going to be hard to keep your or the fur babies’ sparkly magic confetti (hair, I’m talking about your hair or the fur baby’s hair) from sticking to it?


When designing a project and yes you are a designer. You design colors, texture by your choice of stitch, and even size. Anyone can make magical creations and you are no different than anyone else in your creations. There are questions to consider… What is the purpose of this project? How will it hold up if I wash it seventeen million times? Will I still love it if it pills or gets yarn fuzzies?

Choose a yarn that will work for your project. Chenille may be more ideal for the dainty accessory items. But look around! My dear Grandmother Franny takes me shopping mostly when its raining. But that is not the point… the point is we go for “Ideas”. I have watched her pick up a top take it off the hanger and turn it inside out. Then she would oh so quietly say “Breland… See here they just gathered that seam up and sewed it into that cuff. Creating that pleat cuff look.” Then she would put it back and go home and sketch out a shirt from about three and sometimes four different patterns she keeps around to create something new. Something she wanted. Something that fit her by changing the neckline or the cuff or the drape of the top. Talk about an art… Do this with your crochet items. What do you notice is made from this type of yarn in the stores? Here is what I notice… Tight stitching, typically knitted, and typically an accent piece. I never see it as a top and if its in a blanket it is thicker. I honestly think they put two strands so to speak together to make it lay correctly for a blanket.


To conclude this little magical experience… Chenille yarn would be lovely as an accent cowl, decorative headband (crochet around a cheap hard one), blanket using two strands in a tight stitch. This yarn from Dollar Tree does not give you a lot in terms of yardage but You CANNOT beat the price. A small project say the headband would take about 1 skein or ball and you would still have some left over depending on stitch and hook size.


I want to see your creations! Please comment and sign up for my email list so you do not miss a blog post AND you get to see what other stitches I decided to try out with this specific yarn! You can sign up for the email list under “Contact” in the menu bar above. Until our next endeavor I bid you adieu.



49 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page