top of page

Beginner Crochet Tips

5 Secrets tips to Mastering Crochet Skills



Hello Magical Friends,

So you have decided to start or have already began you crochet journey! How exciting! I am here to help make sure that it will be a magical time. Below are 5 secrets to making sure you succeed in crocheting.


Once you apply these 5 easy secrets to crocheting and learning this wonderful hobby and art it will be much more enjoyable.


Now what makes me an expert? Honestly, nothing. I have however, crocheted for over ten years and have learned to disect crochet skills to make them easier for myself and I am hoping this will make it easier for you too!


These tips may not make you a perfect crocheter but they will help you in your journey.


Tip #1 - Take your time


So, susie that you saw on facebook is beyond anything you have mastered yet in your crochet abilities. Maybe you are feeling sad you are not as progressed or even frustrated you cannot get it right. Sound familiar?

I was right where you are now. However, I learned it will take time. I never completed a project until about five years ago. I did though, practice my stitches and tried new patterns. I learned to crochet in the dark and I can now do most any project and even design my own.


The reason for this is because I took my time to learn. I made sure I knew what I was doing before I completed my first project.

So it takes you more time than others... thats okay! You are a unique individual and there is not another YOU out there.

So take your time!


Tip #2 - Learn to "feel" your stitches

Remember when I said I learned to crochet in the dark? I was not kidding!

I learned to crochet in the dark intentionally so that I can crochet anywhere! I did this to know what my stitches felt like.


For example a Single crochet (grey) and a Half Double crochet feel differently. See the picture below. They also look differently. Learn to "see" with your fingers. I started by crocheting in super dim lighting and then slowly darkened my surrounding as I got comfortable.





Tip #3 - There is no Perfect


No one's work is perfect. Just today I had to rip out (frog) an entire row of work. It was very frustrating. Accept that you are learning and years from now when you have experience you are still not going to be perfect. You would have just have developed more skills. It is okay to not have it "just right". Be patient with yourself as you grow in your skills.


Tip #4 - If it hurts... STOP


Crochet is a learned skill. You are doing new movements with tendons, ligaments, and muscles you may have never used. They need to be strengthed and this takes time.


If you are holding your hook or yarn a certain way and it hurts STOP. Try another way to hold it. It should never cause you pain. You do not want to injure yourself. Make sure you stretch and sit comfortably and have good lighting when you crochet to prevent injury.


Tip #5 - Start Somewhere


Choosing the best stitch is hard because there is no best stitch. So start somewhere! Pick a stitch and just begin. Start with a square or make a dishcloth. If you start then you have something to look at and change. Your skills only grow if you use them. Want to learn a "hard" stitch? Go for it! But let me let you on a secret... There is no "hard" stitches in crochet. Basic stitches like Single Crochet and Double crochet when combined together in various ways become hard stitches. So know your basics! Basic stitch tutorials are below and linked.


BE sure to like my facebook page to get updates on new blog posts and youtube videos! I have also created a facebook group to share exclusive content! Be sure to check both of these out!


Facebook Page


Facebook Group



Want to learn all your basic stitches?

Here is a list of youtube videos I have made for you to do just that! Your basic stitches create your hard stitches. Neat right? Be sure to check out these videos as they will be a key to success in all your "hard" stitches!


YouTube Tutorials on all basic stitches Including


Slip Knot, Chain, Single Crochet, Half Double Crochet, Double Crochet, Treble (Triple) Crochet and Slip stitch.


*This link is the playlist for all the basic stitches mentioned above.


Thanks for reading! Have a MAGICAL DAY.

-Breland

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page